Mandatory E-Filing
Begins November 20, 2019
For additional information please visit

What is mandatory e-filing?
Mandatory e-filing in New York State requires the filing of legal papers by electronic means with the County Clerk or appropriate court.

When does e-filing begin?
Mandatory e-filing begins November 20, 2019.

Please note: Any new cases issued in the Saratoga County Clerk’s Office for filing on or after Wednesday, November 20, 2019 must be e-filed to avoid rejection, unless you or the documents are exempt from e-filing.

What documents must be e-filed?
All civil actions must be e-filed; there are six exemptions as noted under “What documents are exempt from mandatory e-filing?”.

What documents are exempt from mandatory e-filing?
1. Article 70 (special proceedings/Writ of Habeas Corpus)
2. Election Law
3. Matrimonial
4. All Mental Hygiene
5. Article 78 (against a body or officer)
6. Consumer Credit as defined by CPLR 105(f)

Who is exempt from e-filing?
Unrepresented litigants are automatically exempt. Attorneys who lack the knowledge or resources to e-file may file a form with the NYS Unified Court System certifying as such for exemption. All others must e-file.

How do I e-file?
You can e-file through the New York State Unified Court System website at

Is training available?
Yes. The New York State Unified Court System offers in person and online training.

Where can I find information on training dates and locations?
Training flyers are available at the Saratoga County Clerk’s Office front counter. Information is also available at