Public Safety Committee Minutes June 12, 2018 – 3:30 p.m.

Present: Chairman Paul Lent; Supervisors Preston Allen, Phil Barrett, Scott Ostrander, Bill Peck, Dan Pemrick, Kevin Tollisen and Chairman of the Board Ed Kinowski; Spencer Hellwig, County Administrator; Steve Dorsey, County Attorney; Michael Zurlo, Rick Castle, Sheriff; Wes Carr, STOP DWI; Carl Zeilman, Ed Tremblay, Emergency Services; Jason Hayes, Animal Shelter; Oscar Schreiber, Public Defender; Press.

Chairman Lent called the meeting to order and welcomed all in attendance.

On a motion made by Mr. Peck, seconded by Mr. Pemrick, the minutes of the May 8, 2018 meeting were approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Mr. Peck, seconded by Mr. Pemrick, to authorize the Chair of the Board to enter into contracts with school districts in Saratoga County to provide school resource officers. Unanimous.

Mr. Zurlo said that the contract will provide 11 school resource officers to 9 school districts. The school districts are as follows, Ballston Spa, Burnt Hills, Corinth, Galway, Mechanicville, Schuylerville, Shenendehowa, South Glens Falls and Stillwater. The Ballston Spa and Shenendehowa School districts have requested two officers for their districts.

Mr. Zurlo said that Deputy Ken Cooper was awarded a medal of merit from the National Sheriffs' Association. The medal was awarded for the community policing of schools over the past few years.

On a motion made by Mr. Pemrick, seconded by Mr. Peck, the meeting was adjourned unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Therese Connolly Deputy Clerk of the Board