Can I apply for a passport at the Saratoga
County Clerk’s Office?
Yes.

Do you have notary services available?

Yes, we have several notary publics on staff who can
notarize your document at no cost during regular
business hours. You must present a government-
issued photo ID.

Can I get a copy of a will at the Clerk’s Office?
The County Clerk’s Office does not keep records of wills
unless the will directly affects real property recorded
with the office. For all other wills and probate records,
contact the Saratoga County Surrogate Court Office,
located in Building 3 of the Saratoga County Municipal
Center Complex or at 518-451-8830.

Can I get a copy of a birth, death or marriage
certificate at the County Clerk’s Office?

No. Birth certificates, death certificates, and marriage
certificates are kept at the town or city clerk’s office
where the event took place and at the New York State
Department of Health Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Information About Court Records

What is mandatory e-filing?

New York State’s mandatory e-filing law requires that
all legal papers and civil actions be filed by electronic
means, unless they qualify for special exemption.

How do I e-file?
You can e-file through the New York State Unified
Court System website at www.nycourts.gov/efile.

What documents are exempt from e-filing?
The following are exempt from the e-filing mandate:
Article 70 (special proceedings/Writ of Habeas
Corpus); Election Law; Matrimonial; All Mental
Hygiene; Article 78 (against a body or officer);
Consumer Credit as defined by CPLR 105(f).

Who is exempt from e-filing?

Unrepresented litigants are automatically exempt.
Attorneys who lack the knowledge or resource to e-file
may file a form with the NYS Unified Court System
certifying as such for exemption. All others must e-file.

What is a civil action file?

A civil action file may include court orders, affidavits,
summons, complaints or any document pertaining to
that action and bearing the assigned index number.

How do I file a civil action?
A civil action must start with an index number.

Information for Veterans

Why should I file my DD-214 with the County
Clerk’s Office?

When you file your original DD-214 with the County
Clerk’s Office, you'll have a safe place to keep your
document along with easy access to free certified copies
any time you need them. Filing here also helps you
readily access services provided by the Saratoga County
Veterans Service Agency that require a DD-214.
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Contact Information

Where is the County Clerk’s Office located?
40 McMaster Street, Ballston Spa, NY 12020, Building
1 of the Municipal Center

What are the business hours?

Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday,
excluding holidays. Land recordings and court filings
close at 4:15 p.m., and passport services close at 4 p.m.

What is your website address?
www.saratogacountyny.gov/saratoga-county-clerk

What is your email?
countyclerk@saratogacountyny.gov

Fees and Financial Transactions

What forms of payment do you accept?
We accept cash, in-state check or money order. Checks
must have an address and phone number imprinted.

Do you have an ATM?
No.

How much does it cost to...

Get a certified copy? $5 ($1.25 per page after four
pages)

File a DBA? $25

File a DBA Amendment? $25

File a DBA Discontinuance? Free

Get a DBA form? $1 each or free online

Request a copy? $0.50/page

Make a copy using Public Copier? $0.25/page
Renew a Notary License? $60

Get a passport photo? $10

Apply for a passport? Minors $100; Adults $130.
Process a passport? $35

Information for Business Owners

How many newspapers must I place a notice
in for my new LLC?

You must publish notice in one daily and one weekly
newspaper. Follow the directions provided by New
York State Department of State.

Where can I publish notice of my new LLC?
The County Clerk’s Office has designated the following
newspapers:

e Daily: Saratogian, Times Union, Daily Gazette, Post
Star

»  Weekly: The Express, Saratoga Today

‘What business forms must be filed with the
County Clerk’s Office?

Certificate of Conducting Business Under Assumed
Name (DBA); Amended Business Certificate (if
applicable); Certificate of Discontinuance of Business
(if applicable).

How do I sign up for my business to be part of
the F.A.V.O.R. Program?

Fill out a F.A.V.O.R. merchant application, available in
our office or on our website. Participation is free.

Information for the Public
and Researchers

‘What type of records are available to research?
Records available for researching include Census
Records dating back to 1845, naturalization records
from 1791- 1955; property records, mortgage records,
deed records and civil actions.

How can I get a copy of my deed?

Deed copies may be obtained online, in-person or by
mail. Mailed requests must include payment and a self-
addressed, stamped envelope.

How can I access the County Clerk’s Office
public records online?

Go to www.saratogacountyny.gov/saratoga-county-clerk
and click on “Online Records Application”. Click on

“See Subscription Plans/Create an Account” and click
“Next”. Fill in the required fields and click “Sign Up.”

How many records does the County Clerk’s
Office have available to search?

We have more than 20 million documents digitized and
available for viewing and printing online and in our
office.

Where can I get a copy of a map?

Maps are available in our office and the Real Property
office. Full-size copies are $3 each. Tax maps provided
by Real Property are $6.

Where can I view maps?

Property maps are available for viewing in office or
on the Saratoga County Clerk Online Records System.
Tax maps are available through Saratoga County Real
Property Assessment Database at www.saratoga.
sdgnys.com.

How do I access my divorce documents?
Divorce documents can be accessed in office or by mail
only by the persons named in the case or their attorney.

In Office: You must provide a photo ID. There is a
$5 certified copy fee for up to four
pages; it is $1.25 per page thereafter, with a
maximum cost of $40.

By Mail: You may send a letter of request along
with your notarized signature, a self-
addressed, stamped envelope and
an in-state check (must have phone
number and address imprinted) or a
money order for payment.

Can I get a passport at the Saratoga County
Clerk’s Office?

Yes, we are an official U.S. Passport Agent. You can
apply for a new passport and have your photo taken at
the Saratoga County Clerk’s Office.

How do I apply for a passport?

New applicants will need to fill out form DS-11
(available in our office), show proof of U.S. citizenship
and proof of identity, and bring two checks (one
payable to the County Clerk’s Office and one payable
to the U.S. Department of State). Renewal applicants
may get form DS-82 and their passport photo taken in
our office for a fee of $10. Passport renewals must be
mailed by the applicant to the Passport Agency.

When are passport applications processed?
We process passports in our office Monday through
Friday, excluding holidays. Please visit our website for
our current business hours.

How long will it take to get my passport?
Passport processing times may vary. Please contact
our office or visit www.travel.state.gov for up to date
information.



