The Child Protective Services Act of 1973 established child protective services (CPS) in each county in New York. Each CPS is required to investigate child abuse and maltreatment reports, to protect children (anyone under 18 years old) from further abuse or maltreatment, and to provide rehabilitative services to children, parents, and other family members involved.

The New York State Office of Children and Family Services maintains the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR, also known as the “hotline”) for child abuse and maltreatment reports. The SCR staff relay information from the calls to the local CPS for investigation.

The SCR receives calls 24 hours a day, every day from two types of sources: persons who are required by law (mandated) to report suspected cases of child abuse and maltreatment and calls from non-mandated reporters, general public.

Saratoga County Child Protective Unit is responsible for receiving and investigating all reports of child abuse and neglect. In addition, CPS must, when appropriate, provide, arrange for, or monitor the provision of services necessary to ensure and protect the child’s welfare and to preserve and stabilize the family life whenever possible. Referrals to provider agencies are made where appropriate.

Saratoga County Preventive Services Unit – Preventive services are those supportive and rehabilitative services provided to children and their families for the purpose of: averting a disruption of a family which could result in the placement of a child in foster care; enabling a child who has been placed in foster care to return to his or her family or reducing the likelihood that a child who has been discharged from foster care will return to foster care.

Child Protective Services (CPS) Hotline: 1 (800) 342-3720

Children younger than 18 and their families.

An array of services is available depending on the needs of the family. Services can include case management and referral to provider agencies, such as mental health treatment, drug and alcohol treatment, parent training, transportation services and childcare services, etc.

Call the Child Abuse and Maltreatment Hotline Number 1-800-342-3720.

You can call the Children’s Services Unit of Saratoga County DSS at 884-4151 or 884-4152. Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm.